Seminar and Event Reviews:

Shilpa Bhouraskar Seminar Report, 25 & 26 September, 2010
Review by Emma Stanton

On the weekend of September 25th and 26th we were privilaged to have Shilpa Bhouraskar come to the West and talk to us about her Understanding Miasms and Individual Strategies.

Shilpa explained how Homoeopathic prescribing can be broken down into 4 stages.

Stage 1 being the disease name and treating with remedies according to that  - most doctors prescribe this way.

Stage 2 would be the therapeutic model where treatment is based on the local common symptoms e.g chilly expressed @ 5am & 8am. Also PQRS which are expressed locally.

Stage 3 is classical Homoeopathy which uses the miasm and Physical, Mental, Generals of the person.

Stage 4 is about the disturbance of the vital force at its core and uses sensation and energy. Rajan Sankaran uses this method where the source structure is traced and expressed through words, movement, gestures and even doodling.

During this weekend Shilpa walked us back through the miasms of Dr Hahnemann and then on to reaching stage 4 and Sankaran's use of the 3 kingdoms - plant, animal and mineral. We learnt the importance of staying at stage 3 with feelings and only going to stage 4 when the patient was ready for the sensation level.

When finding the appropriate remedy at stage 4 we look to the kingdoms which helps to narrow down our choice of remedy.  So, at a very basic level, if the symptom picture is about reaction and what is happening to them then we look to the plant kingdom.  For remedies in the plant kingdom the patient will be expressing sensations of " he versus me" or competition.  The mineral kingdom would be considered if when the person loses their ability to deal with the problem or feels that the problem is within them. 

Throughout the weekend Shilpa showed us how to put these principles into practice successfully.

It was a very informative and exciting seminar which was thoroughly enjoyed by all of us who attended.

Thank you, as usual, to Jan Owen Homoeopathics for the use of her rooms plus everyone involved in the organising of the weekend from wonderful food to taking care of Shilpa and tidying up afterwards.

Liz Lalor seminar report…..27th & 28th March 2010
Review by Emma Stanton

On the weekend of we had the privilege of listening to Liz Lalor. Her seminar covered her successful fertility program - 207 babies born out of 237 - on day 1 and day 2 saw us absorbed in the Delusion Rubrics of psychiatric homoeopathy.

During her lecture on fertility, Liz talked about Vannier's method of prescribing.

The homoeopathic method devised by Vannier protects exhausted organs. The remedies chosen by Liz using Vannier's method are somewhat standardized but are applicable to the presenting symptoms of the patient. In her notes Liz states that today’s lifestyle has influenced her so she has changed and adapted Vannier's system to reflect this. Her statistics speak for themselves - 209 baby’s born OR 239 women - quite an achievement.

The second day was just as exciting as the first.

Liz very kindly shared actual case videos with us which were so useful when discussing the delusion rubrics.

As a practitioner listening to clients we need to learn to 'think' Homoeopathically, becoming aware of any conflict. The striking symptoms must be in the nature of the pathology, emotionally, mentally and physically.

The Delusion rubric will resonate with what is out of proportion, the simillimum will contain the Disturbance and the Causation.
Liz worked through some fascinating cases with us.

All in all the weekend was very well attended by homoeopaths and other complementary therapists. The students who attended made a very welcome sight also.

A big Thank you to Jan Owen who provided us with the venue at her lovely rooms which have such a large lecture room. Food was great - tasty and colourful!  A very enjoyable weekend.

Michael Higginson - September 2009 
Review by Emma Stanton
Michael Higginson's seminar on 12th and 13th September was a great success and attended by natural therapists across the board, including a veterinary homoeopath, naturopath, practitioners both new and long standing and students.  A terrific turnout to listen to an interstate visitor.

In his seminar Michael reminded us all of the great homoeopaths including and since Dr. Hahnemann who have helped to broaden our understanding and use of potentised remedies.  He made comment on the times in which the literature was written and how, had he lived, Dr. Hahnemann may have been on his 66th version of the Organon and perhaps changed his views on a few things including posology - one of the major challenges of prescription.  How much?  How often?  And for how long?  Why has this remedy which is seemed like the similimum not worked?  We must realise that Homoeopathy is based on experience and not just theoretical construction.

Michael went on to discuss case histories both from his own practice and experience and on anecdotal cases.  He relayed a case of potential amputation of the foot of a young girl who had developed gangrene and was in hospital with the surgeon standing by.

She was adamant that the foot not be removed but as it was a case of gangrene the surgeon was equally concerned.  The GP was called in and fortunately for the young patient this doctor had knowledge of homoeopathy and called on that help.  The prescription given was carbolic acid in potency which cured the problem and the patient retained her foot. 

During case discussion with Michael most people would have prescribed Lachesis which fitted the symptomatology and so a healthy debate took place as to why Lachesis.  At so many levels it could be seen that the remedy of choice was a good one - it fitted the symptom picture.

(Boger) and had the added dimension of fitting the profile for microbiology, biochemistry and physiologically.  As we discovered the remedy of choice fitted at so many levels other than its symptom picture.  A timely reminder to look at the broader picture all the time and not just "through a glass darkly" as Michael pointed out.

We were also introduced to how Dr. Dhawhale used time dimension and homoeopathy to explain Hahnemannian miasmatic pathology today.  Psora as an acute alarm; Sycosis as habituation; Tubercular as general alarm; Syphilis as destruction and decline. Each miasm was discussed in light of these general findings.

Michael's case presentations created a very interactive weekend and with so much useful and interesting information being given including the huge success of prophylactic prescribing in Cuba that at one point we had to please request a break for coffee!!
The food was great, as usual, and of course grateful thanks go to Jan Owen for the use of her lovely seminar room.

All in all a very worthwhile and informative weekend with requests for Michael to return soon for more of the same.

Shilpa Bhouraskar - July 2009
Review by Paula Morgan coming soon

Roger Dyson Seminar - March 2009
Review by Pauline Kalbfell
After minimal preamble on Saturday morning, our first volunteer presented herself to Roger with ‘Eczema’ - or was it Leprosy?

(English humour spiced the entire seminar). Whatever it was, the cause was quickly isolated to ‘external factors’, because kinesiology testing indicated a favourable change after our volunteer washed her face! (Face creams and soaps began to look a bit suspect.)

We were then carefully taught to test the Pectoralis Major Clavicular muscle (which relates to the stomach meridian) and before morning tea we found which supplements (ranging from the Supermarket Specials to the Ultimate Brands) strengthened or weakened us. We learnt to differentiate the nutrients that were harmful, helpful, or a priority. Also vials with green, blue, yellow and red dots on the lids were given to us to test.

After morning tea, Mr. Arsenicum, and Ms. Pulsatilla presented themselves to Roger for testing. Their remedies tested as non -priority until the body was ‘fooled’ into thinking that it had received a dose of Psorinum. This test demonstrated the ‘tug -boat’ capacity of Psorinum to get the best out of the indicated remedy.

Ms. Lycopodium also presented herself. Lycopodium strengthened her generally, but did not address her specific complaint (from memory, the complaint was a Life Threatening Illness, better not discussed.) The vial with the Blue Dot on the lid was the specific remedy for the Life Threatening Illness.

After lunch we were shown how to reduce the severity of an allergic response by ‘fooling’ the body into thinking it was exposed to the allergen (a 1X potency of the allergen, placed on CV6 point, just below the naval, did the trick) and then tapping specific Bladder, Stomach, Kidney and Spleen points in sequence. In between our testing and tapping practises, Roger discussed his homoeopathic prescribing for allergies.

Sunday began with another case of Leprosy - this time the ‘maintaining cause’ was the electrical field created by a watch. (Not the metal on the watch, this option had been eliminated with testing). The vial with the Green Dot on the lid tested as being helpful for this sort of Leprosy, and the owner of the watch was advised to wear his ‘maintaining cause’ less often.

The vial with the Blue Dot was the priority remedy for two volunteers who presented themselves with “Bone Thinning”. But the volunteers were also strengthened by a blue party light being switched on in the room.

More tapping and testing exercises (this time to reduce substance overload or intolerance) and then came the party lights.

Green light mitigates the electromagnetic stress from watches and mobile phone charges. Blue light is used for mobile phones and computers. Red or Pink light is for Geographic stress. Yellow light is for LED displays, Plasma screens, Baby Alarms, low -energy -light -bulbs. (A new generation of low energy light bulbs don’t seem to cause electromagnetic stress). “Daylight Bulbs” (which emit a clear, bluish light) contain green, blue and red. A 15W bulb is sufficient for a room. It’s OK to use a lamp shade and the light only needs to be switched on when the room is in use.

We found that the vials with the Green, Blue, Yellow and Red Dots were the colour remedies in 30C. These can be given to strengthen the patient from within, while the lights reduce the ‘maintaining cause’ from without. Electricitas 30c may also be used.
The humble hairdryer then took the stage - a quick ‘swish’ up and down the torso, with the back end of the hairdryer, will degauss (demagnetise) the body. Leave the hairdryer plugged in somewhere handy to use when walking past it, as it ideally needs to be used three times daily. We were also introduced to a copper ‘Waveshield’ that can be adhered to mobile phones - and devices of varying sizes that can be placed near computers, in meter boxes and in cars. Visit www.rayonex.de for further information.

The seminar sounds like a lot of work - it was, and we had just as many laughs. Roger conducted seven consultations on the Monday and perhaps that says it all about the quality of his seminar. Roger gave us a ‘fishing line’ along with many ‘fish’. I am writing this report less than a week later and already my practice has changed - suffice to say that my patients are probably walking around with one arm in a sling!

Roger Dyson’s book is titled “Classical Homoeopathy Revisited” and is available from lin@Homoeopathic -books.net. His second book will be out soon. We were very privileged to have him - also very privileged to have Jan’s lovely conference room - and most sincere thanks to Madeleine and the Committee Members for hosting Roger.

Seminar and Event Reviews: 2008 in Retrospect

The "Support for Cancer Patients" Seminar 27th and 28th February 2008 with Dr A. U. Ramakrishnan
Review by George Kay
There was a big turnout for this very informative and useful seminar - and rightly so. Thirty or so of Perth's brightest and keenest Homoeopaths were given plenty to go on with from one of the world's most experienced and knowledgeable Homoeopaths. Dr A. U. Ramakrishnan, homeopath to thousands all over the world - including well -known political and entertainment figures, kept the entire audience laughing loud and thinking hard throughout the entire two days.

He surely left all of those who attended much more capable of rendering support to people suffering from this ever increasing scourge.

Many thanks to all who assisted with this notable event and made it the great success that it was.

Peter Tumminello Seminar 4 to 6 July 2008
Twelve Jewels and Colour Prescribing in Homoeopathy

Review by Phillip Hendry
I am still quite “pumped up” writing the review on Monday morning after the seminar which is quite surprising considering how long it took for me to drop off sleep last night. Maybe it was the mystery substance I and 17 other people took at the meditative proving on Friday night and further doses over the weekend which caused my insomnia or perhaps just the simulation of the whole weekend. Who knows!

On Saturday morning we watched a video case presentation of client who admitted she and her husband both felt like caged animals which led us into Emerald and its theme of “inner strength contained.” Peter then summarised the negative and positive mental and emotional potentials of Emerald followed by its characteristic physical symptoms concluding with some differential diagnosis remedies. Peter’s use of video cases to introduce the more commonly used gems was a very potent teaching technique. The characteristics and qualities of gems as a group including features, themes, imagery, spiritual dimension, actions and chakras were explained.

We watched selected excepts from a DVD called Opal Fever featuring street kid Steve from Sydney making a proposed brief visit to his father Darren in the opal fields. However, Steve gets caught up in the search for and excitement of finding precious gems and is still there 16 years later. Small hand worked claims often within a hand throw of each other have in many cases yielded their owners over the years, returns of between $500K and $1.5M. Peter uses the film to illustrate the correlation of strong personal and material themes with people’s wider need to be able to align forces impacting upon their lives and in their higher need for spiritual understanding, themes also contained within the gem series.

On Sunday gems worn as jewellery were considered an aid to remedy selection. Peter also explained the powerful nature of gems and how an inappropriate choice could have negative consequences for the wearer. I was particularly entranced by a personal account of how a Carnelian bracelet made by Peter from stones purchased for $12 had a huge positive impact when worn by his son -in -law, completely turning around the way he viewed his world without ever taking remedy. Amazing! Peter discussed gem qualities, size, and choice, jewellery selection based on Ayurvedic astrology and how he made the remedy tinctures.

In the afternoon we learnt of the work of German homoeopaths who since 1985 have been identifying the colours associated with in excess of 500 remedies. A good colour selection is considered the equivalent of a mental general. Colour selection is considered confirmative rather than diagnostic. The cream on the cake so as to speak was Peter’s demonstration of bio -energetic feedback (kinesiology) techniques to test homoeopathically selected and unique muscles pertaining to the final remedy selection. Peter explained he has been learning these techniques from Dutch homoeopath and author Dr Filip Degroote. Without any shadow of doubt another benchmark and world class seminar delivered by Peter Tumminello.

WHAW 2008, Homoeopathy & Sport 6th April
Review by Jan Owen
On the afternoon of Sunday 6th April we celebrated WHAW with an Open Day. The theme for WHAW 2008 was Homoeopathy and Sport and the committee organised an interesting afternoon of stalls, afternoon tea and a video on the history of homoeopathy. Kate invited some local sports champs to talk to the gathering about their sport and the associated thrills and spills that they experience as a result. They explained how they use their first aid homoeopathic kits and topical rubs, creams and ointments most notably Arnica. We had several visitors including Michelle Arnould, a homoeopath who was here on a holiday from Holland. The event was advertised broadly with a brochure explaining the use of homoeopathy for sport and fitness. We distributed these brochures through local gyms, sports clubs, health centers and sports medicine specialists. Please let the secretary know by phone or email if you have any queries or consults booked as a result of picking up and reading the brochure. This feedback helps the committee to see how their marketing efforts are going. Thank you to Monica Dunne our seminar coordinator for organising the brochures which were distributed for WHAW and to all who participated in any way to ensure WHAW was a success.

2007 In Retrospect

Seminar and Event Reviews:

Alize Timmerman Seminar February 07 - Sabine Sommerhalder
After a somewhat late start, mainly caused by computer problems, Alize wasted no time introducing us to her work as a homoeopathic cancer specialist.

She shared much valuable information about the personality, or archetype, of the person that is likely to develop cancer at some stage in their life, plus she provided much insight into mental or emotional symptoms that can often be found behind certain forms of cancer. With simple but thoughtfully designed sketches she showed us very graphically how it is possible that part of who we are can become suppressed and lost, and as we already know, those parts we fail to express will likely develop a "mind of their own".
It became clear very quickly that Alize has a wealth of knowledge in her chosen field. Those not knowing anything about C4 Homoeopathy might have struggled a bit to follow at first, but at the end of the second day I felt that the concept and information about this relatively unknown way of potentising remedies had started to become clearer. With brilliant video recordings Alize brought her cases to life and provided much insight into the way she works and what patients can expect by working on such a deep level.

When leaving, I felt that I have not only been blessed with a vast amount of information about the treatment of cancer patients, but that I had also received a gentle reminder about the deeper meaning of living and dying and our own role in the healing process of others. As it was beautifully visible from the video cases, our souls have their own journey, and our time and role here in this material world are only part of our bigger, spiritual journey. Through her videos Alize was also able to show us how sometimes a potentially fatal illness like a cancer can help an individual find that part within them that knows how to make the transition from a place of darkness and of being lost back into the light of their own being.

WHAW Open Day - Sunday 1 April 2007
Your ever enthusiastic committee plus some other willing members/helpers set up a mini expo at the South Perth Civic Centre for WHAW. With a video on homoeopathy, AHA info table, HEC’s colourful display, and clinic information from a variety of homoeopaths, we were pleased to welcome a variety of people of all ages to our open day. It was an opportunity to chat to the attendees individually, for homoeopaths to present on their area of expertise in a series of mini talks, and as always to get together with colleagues.

We were very fortunate to welcome Francis Treuherz, a very experienced UK homoeopath and expert on homoeopathic history, who just happened to be in Perth for that weekend. At very short notice, he opened the event for us, sharing some of his delightful anecdotes, and even joined us for questions after the talks.

Afternoon tea was served and it looked like a good time was had by all!

August 12th 2007 PDD & AGM
An interactive PDD and AGM were held at Owen Homoeopathics new building on Sunday August 12 th . Four new mums kindly donated their colostrum; the committee members organised and weighed in preparation, so everything was ready for the trituration process to begin on our arrival.

The remainder of the day was spent clutching the mortar and pestle, grinding and scraping and the very important process of time keeping! This process was unique for each member in attendance; while many shared their similarities the proving of the remedy affected each individual in a unique way. Interestingly each potency brought up different aspects of nourishment, mentals, emotional and spiritual, some experiences were extremely profound. Conversation was lively although at times the room was silent as the remedy required. A renewed appreciation has gone into the preparation of a new remedy and the physical and mental demands required during the trituration process - and we only took it to a C4!

In the break the AGM was held and committee members were elected.

Deborah Collins, 27th and 28th October - Sophie Yesberg

The Deborah Collins Seminar was held at Jan Owen's new and very pleasant premises at Redcliffe on October 27 and 28.

Deborah didn't set a specific seminar. Instead she brought a lot of cases and teaching material to allow the group to meander in any desired direction. Beginning with some interesting video cases, Deborah lead us through her understanding of Jan Scholten's process. Deborah elaborated on the themes of Jan's salts in a very clear and logical way, inspiring us with the beautifully simple, holistic, and congruent structure of his method. Deborah's aim initially was to develop our confidence to combine two familiar remedies in one prescription. This allows the homoeopath to expand the Materia Medica and open up to more possibilities. Deborah also went through some of the newer remedies in the periodic table, notably the Lanthanides.

The cases and remedies took many of us to a deep level of sensitivity, such that Deborah took us into a healing meditation in order to integrate and let the information and experiences settle. Deborah has a gentle approach to her art and to her teaching which was inspiring in itself. Deborah's fundamental message was to try things and be playful. She encouraged us to find our own way, instead of trying to follow another homoeopath's path to success. Her teaching is highly practical in application. I for one already feel more confident about prescribing remedies after the weekend. All of the attendees seemed very keen to have Deborah return soon.

2006 In Retrospect

Seminar and Event Reviews:

March 25th and 26th 2006:
Patricia Hatherley came to Perth in March to present a seminar on the Lac remedies.

Patricia gave us a huge list of benefits to both the child and the mother connected with being breast fed.

Time was spent going thru the biochemistry of colostrum, transitional and mature milk. Issues of weight gain, mastitis, over feeding, nipple cracking and white spot were discussed. Simple techniques to resolve some of the issues and solutions of practical handling and positioning of the baby and breast were explained in detail. Diet and remedies played a big part in the care and prevention of some of these issues.

Much differentiating detail was given on Lac Caninum, Lac Lupinun, Lac Humanum and Lac Maternum.

Patricia explained that these remedies have a universal quality to them. This being partly due to the fact that many of us were not breast fed and those that were generally not for the rule of thumb time frame for primates. Implying that these remedies will probably surface at some time or another for most of us personally and for our clients.

Patricia's thoroughness, attention to detail, practicality, forth right style, passion and commitment to her work was evident and impressive. I am sure that I and thus my clients will benefit from this weekend seminar. Sally Moore

AGM and Professional Development Day, 23 July 2006:
Due to its success in 2005 we again combined the AGM and Professional Development Day 2006 on Sunday 23rd July from 10.00 at Owen Homoeopathics in Redcliffe and once again it proved to be a very popular and enjoyable day. Michael Blanch was our speaker for the day and he expanded on the Scholten presentation which he gave at the 2005 Information Day. Once again we enjoyed delicious teas and luncheon and took advantage of the time to socialize with colleagues.

Public Seminar, Homoeopathy for the Family, October 27th 2006:
This seminar for the public was hosted by the Western Australian branch of the Australian Homoeopathic Association and timed to coincide with the 5th Australian Homoeopathic Medicine Conference 2006. It was held at the Esplanade Hotel in Fremantle and was a great success. Speakers included : Jan Owen, Kate Diamantopoulo, Melanie Creedy, Clare Middle, Isaac Golden, Linlee Jordan
Topics included: Introduction and Home Prescribing, Children's Ear Complaints, First Aid for Emergencies, Homoeopathy for Animals, Help for Troubled Kids, Homoeoprophylaxis. The afternoon will conclude with an open panel where speakers will answer questions.

October 28th and 29th 2006:
The 5th Australian Homoeopathic Medicine Conference at the Fremantle Esplanade.

2005 In Retrospect

Seminar and Event Reviews:

Farouk Master, 4th & 5th June 05
Review by Peter Wong
This seminar was well received especially for those who follow and practice the original Hahnemannian classical homoeopathy. To me personally, it's a welcomed revision on the 'Basics' as practiced and promoted by Hahnemann. He began with Hahnemann's classification of diseases - Acute & Chronic and presented several interesting cases to illustrate the methodology/system of analysing the case, establish the rubrics and selection of the indicated remedy.

Farouk explained the manifestation of disease in modern living causing multi -layers of sickness in our bodies expressing both acute and chronic illnesses. Because of the multi -layers, we see different remedies coming up all the time. In acute conditions, he stressed the importance in concomitant mental and physical symptoms. In treating acute cases, he prescribes a follow -up constitutional remedy following 80% to 90% improvement in order to prevent a relapse of the acute condition.

Through the cases presented, he demonstrated the importance of case taking in understanding what the symptoms really mean especially in children who are not able to communicate and express themselves. Through careful observation, we can develop an understanding of the state of mind of the child and its importance in selecting the right remedy. Farokh is very much influenced by the works of Jungian Psychology. He also explained the importance of Dreams and its proper interpretation for it to be useful.

Farouk also demonstrated the repertory methodology using the latest Radar Synthesis Computer program after establishing the relevant rubrics. It is interesting that he divides the rubrics into two distinct categories - symptoms of the disease and symptoms of the person. Repertorisation will provide a selection of remedies to choose from. As Homoeopathy treats the person not the disease, the correct remedy will come from symptoms of the person. He presented several of his successful cases in support of the methodology.

In terms of posology, he is a high potency (50M) prescriber with frequent repeats for urgent acute cases. In acute cases the remedy potency and repetition is governed by the susceptibility of the person. Good susceptibility requires high potency and repeated frequently if required. Poor susceptibility requires low potency with no repeats.

The main characteristics and symptoms of the remedy Carcinosinum were presented and supported by three successful cases of cancer patients.

Overall, Farouk Master is an excellent Homoeopath and teacher with exceptional knowledge of the Materia Medica and Repertory. His presentation was very clear, informative and entertaining with some his little stories. It was one of the best seminars I have attended on the practice of 'Classical' Homoeopathy. We look forward to inviting him back.

 

Top of Page
Developed by PERTHwebs.com PERTHwebs.com